Memo #7

I am now on spring break and it is great to be back home in Chicago. I had started to get incredibly homesick two weeks before break began. One time I was studying with my friend in the library and I just started crying out of nowhere, not just a little…. Like a lot. I was just happy to be with a good friend who could understand what I was going through and not feel embarrassed to be with me. I think the reason I started crying was because we had been eating cheese and crackers and talking about the different food we liked to eat back at home and what out parents were good at preparing. Wow. I think I have already talked about food in more than one of my memos. Well I think its important. Anyway, its sad that I am not able to see my dad over break because he is in Florida for several art fairs at the moments. He said that he would try to makeup for it by sending me a crate of oranges from a citrus grove he had gone to visit. I only recently realized how fitting it would be to send oranges to Syracuse. HAHAHA! Anyway I have observed that about homesickness can have a very sudden onset resulting from associations that you don’t even realize remind you of home until you really think about it. For example I was shaving my legs in the shower and then when I was in bed under the covers it made me think of my comforter back home. I started calling my mom about twice a day and then skyping with her at night until about 2 in the morning.  We talk a lot about food I noticed and the different things were going to do when I come home. Most college students talk to their high school friends or people their age about what there going do to get away from their parents. I guess I am an exception.  I tried to come to terms with the fact that I will inevitably be gaining weight over this break, there are just to many good things to pass up.  So far we have enjoyed my homemade chocolate chip cookies, traditional Lithuanian food, very good cheese..etc.  I wonder why cheese, crackers, and a good cup of tea evoke such a soothing feeling. Maybe it’s the perfecto combination of tastes or maybe it’s the prefect combination of textures. I don’t really know. Maybe its because I’ve grown up with those tastes and they give me a sense of comfort and foundation. On an ending note, I feel its just healthier to keep an open environment with ones parents because they deserve to know about the things you choose to do.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

